Magic Collectors and Builders Online Resource

Shopping Cart

The cart is empty

MagicGizmo Login

Magic Education and principles

More
12 years 9 months ago #1057 by wiz1937
Hi All,

I am a new member. I have been performing professionally since 1975 and prior to that as an amateur and semi-pro since 1950. I am obsessive about magical education as a means of improving ones performance.

I would urge amateurs, semi-pros and even professionals to consider buying, borrowing or stealing all or any of the following. They are too advanced for a beginner;-

The Trick Brain by Dariel Fitzkee - the authoritative text on \'inventing\' your own magic, learning principles etc

Magic by Misdirection by Dariel Fitzkee - a stunning examination all the principles of the main secret (indeed, the only secret) of magic

Strong Magic by Darwin Ortiz - a more advanced book which concentrates on close up presentation and sets out a series of principles on factors which enable the performer to enhance the impact of what he does.

Any professionals reading this please forgive me if I appear to be teaching my grandmother to suck eggs !

wiz1937 (Malcolm)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 9 months ago #1059 by Pier
Your hints and tips are most appreciated Malcom!

May I humbly add Samuel Patrick Smith\'s \"On Stage\" booklet to your list?
Not a so famous major work, but deafinitely a modern one that could open eyes (and minds), imho.

More
12 years 9 months ago #1060 by wiz1937
Thanks for the suggestion !

I wasn\'t aware that Sammy Smith had written a book on stagecraft. I should have known. He was editor of the Linking Ring for some time.

I had a Parade published in it last year and my correspondence was always with him.

I\'ll scour around and see if I can get a copy of the book. I am in fact \'winding down\' and trying to concentrate mainly on close up, whereas most of my career was devoted almost exclusively to children\'s entertainment.